Will I Ever Take a Good Picture?

My journey trying to take good photos.

Hodges Dam in the evening.

Leave a comment

I have a busy weekend coming up so I went for a quick walk at the dam after work yesterday (9/14/12) since I don’t know if I’m going to be able to get out again. All depends on the weather and how quick I can get my chores done. I forgot I have an appointment at the car place today which is probably going to be a few hours out of my day. I am not happy about going to the car dealer since they are fixing something they didn’t do correctly last March. Oh well on to the walk.

There was not much to take pictures of. I got to the dam a bit after 6pm and left at 7pm so I had less than an hour so I didn’t go very far. There were some geese swimming around.

Image

Canon T3i, EF55-250mm f4.5-f5.6@250mm, 1/60 sec, f/7.1, ISO 800

That is two consecutive walks the first thing I’ve taken pictures of have been of geese and two times the pictures aren’t very good. Wish I could blame it on the light.

Even in the evening I can’t help taking a picture of a mushroom. There certainly are a lot of different types of mushrooms:

Image

Canon T3i, EF100mm f2.8L Macro, 1/160 sec, f/3.2, ISO 800

Here is my favorite tree subject. I wish the small tree on the right wasn’t there. It always ruins my shot.

Image

Canon T3i, EF18-135mm f3.5-f5.6@39mm, 1/125 sec, f/5.0, ISO 400

The picture looks dark but this was taken at 6:30pm and it is getting dark at that time. Thru the wonders of Photoshop I removed the tree on the right. I think the picture looks much nicer now although I could have done a better job editing the tree out. When I have time I’ll give it another go.

Image

Canon T3i, EF18-135mm f3.5-f5.6@39mm, 1/125 sec, f/5.0, ISO 400

Standing to the right of the bridge that is in front of the dam looking away from the dam I took a panoramic.

Image

Canon T3i, EF18-135mm f3.5-f5.6@72mm, 1/20 sec, f/7.1, ISO 400, 8 shots

Then leaving I took one last shot. Which one of the two pictures below is what it actually looked like?

Image

Canon T3i, EF18-135mm f3.5-f5.6@18mm, 1/20 sec, f/3.5, ISO 100

The top shot is how it actually looked. The bottom shot has Highlights set to 100, everything else in LR is the same. Incredible what you can do in LR (this is from a raw file).

I hope to get out again this weekend but I just don’t know if I’m going to be able to fit in another walk. It has been awhile since I have gone to take pictures somewhere other than Hodges and I’m thinking I need a change. I keep hoping that at least I’ll start seeing some birds.

Well that’s it for today. Until my next walk.

Leave a Reply

