Will I Ever Take a Good Picture?

My journey trying to take good photos.

Best of 2012

1 Comment

Here are the photos I like the most from last year. This is going to be a long post!

Here is a picture from my first photo session of the year. If you have read my posts you know I am a fair weather (at least warm weather) photographer. This picture is from Feb. 19th and it was about 50 degrees out!

Image

In fact I even saw a dragonfly. This is a terrible picture but who expects to see a dragonfly in February?

Image

One last shot from this shoot. The ducks were out and about.

ImageThe next time I went out it was April 28th. I took a shot of a big tree.

ImageThe next day I went out and took this shot of the leaves starting to grow. This was taken with my 100mm macro lens. I really do like that lens!

Image

Now we are into May. As you can see I was experimenting with black backgrounds:)

ImageNext up is a picture of a flower from a weed growing in my yard. This is a tiny flower but you really can’t tell that from the picture since the flower is isolated.

Image

Then it was my sons graduation from University of Massachusetts. He does look happy!ImageHere is a Mothers day photo with Mom and my daughter taken by my brother Karl. I really like this picture except for the background. Especially the branch growing out of Moms head:(

Image

So off to photoshop. I think this came out pretty good.

ImageNow a couple of shots of trees taken at Hodges Dam:

Image

Image

Here is a picture of a Lady Slipper. I had a heck of a time getting the color of this correct. I used my X-Rite ColorChecker Passport to get the white balance correct. I wouldn’t be surprised if I spent 3 or 4 hours working on this. I even went back and retook the pictures.

Image

Then I got some nice bird pictures. Here is a Tree Swallow.

Image

Great Blue Heron.

Image

My last picture from May. This was taken where I work. I went for a walk at lunch and I noticed this guy was sitting on the rail when I was going down some stairs. I didn’t have my camera with me. Then I remembered I had my iPod touch.

Image

We start the month of June off with a snake:

Image

A picture of a flower in my yard:

Image

At Hodges again I came across this turtle. I wouldn’t have even seen him but another person on the trail told me that there was a turtle next to the bridge.

Image

I had a tough time getting a good shot of this catapillar.

ImageI got a couple of nice pictures while at my parents for Fathers day. Here is a Grey Catbird about to chow down on a bug.

Imageand a shot of a bunny.

Image

Here is a nice view looking across the dam at Hodges.

Image

Some more bird pictures taken at Hodges. Northern Rough-Winged Swallows.

Image

A Killdeer. A bit out of focus but it is the best one I took.

Image

A dove. I have no idea what kind.

Image

A juvenile Robin.

Image

Now we are into July. I got a couple of pictures of Dragonflies.ImageImage

Here is one weird looking mushroom.

ImageAnother bird. I like taking pictures of birds. I keep track of the birds I have taken pictures of in an iPhone app called iBird. You can download your own pictures into the app. A Baltimore Oriole.ImageI have no idea what kind of flower this is but I think it looks cool.

Image

Here is a shot I took at the New England Camera Club Council conference at Umass Amherst. Canon (and Nikon) let you borrow gear to try out. I borrowed the 300mm F4 lens and got this shot.

Image

Anna and I took a trip to the Tower Hill Botanical Garden in Boylston, Ma. First picture was me trying to be artistic. For me I think I did ok:)

Image

Here is Anna getting a picture:

Image

A nice view.

Image

and a nice flower.

Image

Now we are into August and back to Hodges Dam. As you probably have noticed Hodges is my favorite destination for taking pictures. It is only five minutes from my house. Here is a frog.

ImageThen a couple of me trying to channel Mike Moats (a photographer who specializes in Macro photography). I went to a seminar by Mike at the New England Camera Councils photography conference (a topic for another post). The pictures came out ok but I’m no Mike Moats:(

Image

Image

Here is a picture of a sunflower that I grew.

ImageBack to Hodges. A cool looking mushroom.

Image

Still at Hodges but we are into September. If you park in the parking lot and start walking this is the view.

Image

and if you keep walking you see a ghost.

Image

Here is a picture of the Town Hall in Oxford, Ma.

Image

and here it is after a lot of work in Photoshop.

Image

A cool looking salamander at Hodges.

ImageSome more mushrooms at Hodges.

ImageTrying to be artistic again. I like this one.

ImageA nice view at Hodges.

ImageAnother shot of the ghost.

Image

Into October. A shot of a Robin where I underexposed the shot. I played around in Lightroom and came up with this. I thought it looked nice so I kept it.

Image

Seedpods (of what I have no idea) bursting.

Image

Then I stopped taking pictures because it got cold. I just don’t go out much when it is not warm!

Hope you enjoyed my best of 2012 review.

One thought on “Best of 2012

  1. Enjoyed the trip thru the spring & summer of 2012, I like the bird pictures the best.

Leave a Reply

