Will I Ever Take a Good Picture?

My journey trying to take good photos.

Quabbin Reservoir

Leave a comment

Last weekend on the way home from picking up Anna from Umass Amherst I stopped at Quabbin Reservoir for a short walk. Here is some info thoughtfully posted at the dam.

Image

When your entering the park there are signs saying no dogs allowed but as I was walking up to the dam what do I see but a dog!

Image

Then you take a second look and something is not right. It is a prop. There is a sign that explains things.

Image

I find it hard to believe that this works but I didn’t see any geese.

Here is the view as your walking up to the dam. You can tell a couple of things from this picture, one it was a beautiful day and two I hadn’t had a chance to clean the sensor of the crud I talked about in my last post. For the curious I did clean the sensor with a product called Sensor Swab (I used type 2) and I believe it is now clean).

Image

Here is a monument saying who worked on the dam.

Image

and here is the back of the monument.

Image

Instead of walking on top of the dam I took a side trail and went down to the stream. As you get close to the stream you see this sign.

Image

I was hoping for the alarm to go off so I could see the water rise.

When you get down to the river there is a small building. No sign to say what it is.

Image

Along the bank the trees are being undercut. I wonder how long before they fall. I wasn’t the only one who found this interesting. When I was leaving there was another person who looked like they were taking the same picture.

Image

Here is a shot of the bridge that goes over the river. That is as far as I went. This picture is dark but under the trees that is what it was like. If you look under the bridge you can see someone fishing. There were actually 3 people that were fishing.

Image

Then I saw this. Seemed like an unusual way for a tree to decompose.

Image

Here is a picture looking up at the dam. At the bottom of the picture you can see a drainage ditch.

Image

Here is a picture of the bridge. It was getting late and I was tired so this is where I turned around and went back.

Image

The water was low.

Image

Here is the trail as you start to head up.

Image

One last shot of the lake.

Image

It was a pleasant 45 minute walk. I like this time of year. The weather is not to warm and there are no mosquitoes!

I haven’t been doing much reading lately but when I do get a bit of time to read I am reading the Richard Sharpe series by Bernard Cornwell. I download the books from the library on my iPod Touch. Very handy. If the library isn’t open and you need a book you just browse on the library site until you find something that is available and that you like.

The reason I haven’t been reading much is that I have been spending time either taking pictures, editing said pictures, watching videos on how to user Lightroom and Photoshop (joined NAPP last summer and so far the tutorials/training they have are making the $99.00 subscription fee worth it), reading the blogs about only being able to get future revs of Photoshop by subscription (I do NOT like this), researching lenses (I want a nicer telephoto lens then the 55-250mm kit lens I have), working (work keeps getting in the way of play), and playing with my new photo printer (Canon Pro-100). I am going to do a post on the photo printer. I don’t think I understand color management like I thought I did since my prints aren’t looking like what I have on my monitor.

Till my next post.

Leave a Reply

