Will I Ever Take a Good Picture?

My journey trying to take good photos.

Another Walk at Hodges

Leave a comment

Little late posting this walk taken last Monday (5/27). It was another beautiful day to be out walking. In the middle of the trail I see this.

Image

Had to wonder if X marks the spot of some treasure. Then I came upon a toad. I see lots of frogs at Hodges but not many toads, in fact this might be the first one.

Image

I then took this picture. Why you ask? Because I have spent the last week trying to print out a picture where the sky was printing incorrectly and I wanted another picture of sky to try. I haven’t printed this yet because I believe I found the problem. A topic for another post but let’s just say that the Canon reps have a lot of patience with us amateur photographers.

Image

I will admit I am curious if this prints correctly:) Also in the last month or so I worked on a picture where I changed the background but I didn’t have any good backgrounds to use (see my May 5ht 2013 post; Orchid). Here is an attempt to get a good background:

Image

Then I came upon this flower. There was quite a breeze and I couldn’t get a good shot.

Image

I sat down on a bench overlooking a small pond and the Heron didn’t like me around and flew into a tree. I didn’t even see him until he took flight. I took a few pictures of him sitting in the tree with both my 100mm lens and the 55-250mm lens. The first is from the 100mm, the 2nd from the 55-250mm.

Image

Image

Even though the heron is smaller in the 100mm shot he looks a bit sharper. Maybe a prime (and more expensive) lens does give better shots. Here is another one taken with the 100mm.

Image

 

The turtles were out sunning themselves. You have to wonder how this guy got in this position.

Image

Then I saw this lone Lily.

Image

While looking at photos online someone had one of a dandelion that looked cool. I tried to capture the same look. This came out ok but not quite what I was looking for. 

Image

Then I came across a tiny mushroom. Mushrooms seem to be one of my favorite subjects at Hodges.

Image

Image

Well that is it for this walk. I didn’t take a walk at hodges this weekend. I just sat around on the porch and enjoyed the summer heat. 

Leave a Reply

