Will I Ever Take a Good Picture?

My journey trying to take good photos.

Only take pictures within a few hours of Sunrise/Sunset.

Leave a comment

You always hear you should take photos within a few hours of sunrise/sunset. I don’t know where others take their pictures but here in New England those are prime mosquito times. I got up this morning a bit late to see sunrise (I was at Hodges at 5:30). I wore long pants and a long sleeve shirt along with putting on bug spray but the mosquitoes were still brutal. So not only do I have to worry about ticks (Lyme disease) I now have to worry about mosquito born diseases (Eastern equine encephalitis). I rode the bike down so while I was on the bike I was fine but the problem with riding around on the bike is you don’t see as much and you scare off any wildlife. Today it was the Blue Heron and some turkeys. Don’t know if I was walking if I could have got some pictures but my chances would have been much higher! Probably not the Blue Heron since it is very skittish but maybe the turkeys. Hard to believe since we have a lot of turkeys around but I haven’t gotten a picture of any turkeys yet.

I had a lot of trouble getting my exposure correct. I kept blowing out the sky and getting no detail in the shadows. I didn’t have a tripod with me so I didn’t even attempt to exposure bracket for HDR. Here is one picture that came out OK but not great. this is taken on the main bridge that is in front of the dam. I ran it thru NIK Color Efex Pro. and used Detail Extractor. I like the effect it gives:

Image

Here is it before I ran it thru Color Efex Pro.

Image

 

That is really the only picture from this morning that is worth posting. I took this Pano that I like but it really isn’t anything to write home about.

Image

I also saw a beaver and took one quick picture that didn’t come out before he saw me and took off.

I need to go down again at sunrise to practice getting my exposure correct. Maybe a tripod will be a necessity when taking pictures this early.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

