Will I Ever Take a Good Picture?

My journey trying to take good photos.

Flowers!

3 Comments

Went out on the porch last Saturday (4/12) and the crocuses were blooming so of course I had to take some pictures. More to get back in the picture taking mood since past experience has shown me that crocuses are not my best subject. I only took a few shots and ended up with three I like. The reason I find crocuses hard to take pictures of is it is hard to seperate the background from the flower. 

#1.

House_04-12-2

#2

House_04-12-8

#3

House_04-12-11

Which one do you like?

As I was walking back into the house I saw a few more by the stairs. They were darker and I wanted to see how the color showed up so I took a couple of quick shots. Here is the one that came out the best.

House_04-12-13

The color did come out nice. Note what is in the lower right though. It is a snake. I didn’t even notice it when I took the picture. I would have been very surprised if I had stuck my hand down to clean things up a bit! I usually do a bit of preparation like moving twigs or leaves. In the first three shots I also used a diffuser. Here is a shot of the setup.

House_04-12-15

 

Nothing exciting but it was nice to be taking some pictures!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Flowers!

  1. The second picture has a very nice out of focus background. How did you get the flowers in focus and the background out of focus? Did you use a wide open lens with focus stacking? What aperture did you use?

    • F2.8 with 100mm macro f2.8 lens. Handheld. Didn’t setup a tripod so I didn’t even think to try a focus stack. Note: I leave the metadata info in so you can download the picture and check the settings.

  2. I liked the middle one the best, I liked the blurred background and you could see into the tops of the flowers, although they were all good. Mom

Leave a Reply

